3027. Hon Alison Xamon to the parliamentary secretary representing the Minister for Mental Health:

I refer to the Minister’s media statement of 17 June 2020 about the Community Mental Health, Alcohol and Other Drug Council, and I ask:

(a)  when does the Minister anticipate the Council membership will be finalised;

(b)  how many members will be on the Council;

(c)  how will the members be selected;

(d)  how many members have been appointed to date;

(e)  please advise the names of any individuals from (d);

(f)  which organisations, if any, do the individuals from (d) represent;

(g)  have any members of the LGBTIQ community been appointed to the Council;

(h)  if yes to (g):

(i)  who; and

(ii)  which organisations do they represent;

(i)  if no to (g):

(i)  does the Minister intend to appoint any members of the LGBTIQ community; and

(ii)  why not; and

(j)  if yes to (i)(i), please advise the intended selection process for any such members?

Hon Alanna Clohesy replied:

I am advised:

(a)  The Community Mental Health, Alcohol and Other Drug Council (CMC) membership is finalised, with the first CMC meeting held on 24 August 2020.

(b)  11

(c)  The members were selected based on representation from community services peak bodies, major strategic advisory groups, the WA Primary Health Alliance, and a consumer and a carer representative to ensure lived experience is central to policy development and service delivery.

(d)  11

(e)  The 11 members and their representation are:

Chair – Jennifer McGrath, A/Commissioner, Mental Health Commission;

Deputy Chair – Dr Sophie Davison, Chief Medical Officer, Mental Health, Mental Health Commission;

Margaret Doherty, Chair, Mental Health Advisory Council;

Professor Colleen Hayward, Chair, Alcohol and Other Drug Advisory Board;

Vicki O’Donnell, Chairperson, Aboriginal Health Council of Western Australia;

Shauna Gaelber, Chief Executive Officer, Consumers of Mental Health WA;

Taryn Harvey, Chief Executive Officer, Western Australian Association for Mental Health;

Jill Rundle, Chief Executive Officer, Western Australian Network of Alcohol and other Drug Agencies;

Learne Durrington, Chief Executive Officer, Western Australian Primary Health Alliance; Amanda Waegeli, consumer representative; and
Kerry Hawkins, family/carer representative.

(f)  Refer to (e).

(g)  Not directly, however see answer to question (i)(ii) below.

(h)  Not applicable.

(i)        (i) Members have been appointed and membership is set.

(ii) There are a number of vulnerable cohort groups in the mental health and alcohol and other drug system. The membership has been provided with a CMC charter that outlines the requirement of members to represent all stakeholders and consumer groups and carers across the MH and AOD system in their decision making. The MHC will be assisting CMC members connect with a broad range of stakeholders, consumers and carers so that their views can be taken into account as part of CMC discussions. There is also provision within the Terms of Reference for working groups or sub-committees to be formed to assist with achieving the CMC’s objectives.

The CMC is not the only engagement and governance forum available to consumers, carers and stakeholders. The Mental Health Commission is currently drafting an Engagement Stakeholder and Partnership Framework for the sector, to provide direction on the mechanisms and forums available for all stakeholders to contribute to system reform. The Framework once developed will ultimately provide assurance and confidence to the Government and sector that system reform will be supported by efficient and effective stakeholder engagement approaches.

(j) Not applicable.


Parliamentary Type: